No longer “Watching the Wheels”

It seems John Lennon found some measure of peace during the mid-late 70’s when he entered a self-imposed exile of  what he termed, “house-husbandry”.  A period he  was to reflect back on during the making of Double Fantasy and which included the telling lyrics to “Watching the Wheels”:

People say I’m lazy, dreaming my life away. Well, they give me all kinds of advice designed to enlighten me. When I tell them that I’m doing fine Watching shadows on the wall, Don’t you miss the big time, boy, You’re no longer on the ball.
I’m just sitting here watching the wheels go round and round, I really love to watch them roll. No longer riding on the merry go round, I just had to let it go.

And yet for every imaginative individual the dreaded “writer’s or creative block” is anything but a comforting presence or a peaceful retreat from the demands of public performance in whatever form one’s talents choose to take.  In my case it invariably leads to a state of inertia. The creative waters cease to flow and I end up doing what I call the “dead-man’s float in the middle-of the pool”.

Sadly, all too often it takes the practical form of menial labor and rather than taking charge of my life and proactively seeking  a means of expressing my creative impetus, I languish amidst the drudgery and uninspired monotony of the proverbial 9-5.  Ugghhh!!!!

So remembering a basic law of physics that it is easier to redirect a body in motion as opposed to one standing still I’ve decided to stir up the creative process and my nascent writing ability by entering the blogging arena. Hopefully, this medium can provide the impetus for more creative endeavors including but not limited to  a screenplay I have in mind, a YA (young adult) novel and an autobiography.

Inertia always makes me feel as if I’m stuck behind some figurative 8-ball with limited possibilities and a hopeless, unrewarding insipid future. So the time has come to break-free of my self imposed lethargy and to stoke the creative fires once more. So I see this Blog as a great training aid one that will allow me to hone my writing skills and prepare the way for bigger and better things to come.

Here’s hoping 🙂
6 Comments

Filed under Publishing

6 responses to “No longer “Watching the Wheels”

  1. Carole

    You are gifted with word and humour Rachie. I wish you success in your attempt to overcome inertia, even though I never would have thought of you getting complacent, way too much spunk to be stuck girl! Good luck with the screen-play and all else that follows.
    Love, love, love!

  2. xxracheygirlxx

    Rachey…great first blog! I will look forward to more!

    Sue

  3. Wanda

    Good imagery. Love the deadman’s float. Look forward to reading many more alongside the novels and screenplay. Push that old dusty 8 ball out of the way 🙂

  4. Great first blog Where is the second one?

  5. Rachel

    Thanks for the feedback everyone. I’ll have a new one up soon… no urgency until I fulfill my 2 weeks notice then as a matter of discipline and directed energy I should be posting something new almost daily.

  6. Mallory

    Wow Rachey, lovin’ the word imagery 🙂

Leave a Reply

